Canadian credit cards

    Credit cards and tools for building or rebuilding credit

    Review fees, eligibility, practical trade-offs, and who each option may suit. Every figure below comes from the issuer’s own website. Where an issuer doesn’t state something, we say so instead of guessing. Rates and fees can change, so confirm on the issuer’s page before you apply.

    Issuer figures last checked October 5, 2026 against each issuer’s own pages. Confirm with the issuer before applying.

    The products below are shown for comparison based on our own research. We are not currently in a paid partnership with these issuers; if that changes, we'll disclose it clearly here and on each listing.

    How we choose products

    Section 1

    Secured credit cards

    A secured card is a real credit card backed by a refundable deposit you provide. Approval usually depends less on your credit history, which makes these a common starting point after a denial.

    Capital One

    Capital One Guaranteed Secured Mastercard

    Annual fee
    $0
    Purchase rate
    29.9% (21.9% in Quebec)
    Minimum deposit
    Capital One's card page and Cardholder Agreement (September 2026) do not state an amount.
    Credit bureau reporting
    Not stated by the issuer
    • Security funds are required. The page does not state the amount.
    • Credit check: the page’s guaranteed-approval conditions don’t mention credit score.
    • Deposit and bureau names verified October 19, 2026. Expanded FAQ: “we’ll report your behaviour to the credit reporting agencies regularly”. It does not name the bureaus. Security funds FAQ: “we’ll let you know the amount of security funds you need to send in”. Agreement section 20: “you may be asked to provide us with Security funds”. Other figures carried over.
    Checked on issuer’s site: October 5, 2026Issuer page

    Neo Financial

    Neo Mastercard with secured credit limit

    Annual fee
    $0 (Neo Mastercard)
    Purchase rate
    19.99% to 29.99% (your rate is shown in-app)
    Foreign transaction fee
    3%
    Secured card fee
    $5/month secured card fee, not charged to Build or Grow members, per Neo's fee schedule updated September 1, 2026
    Build membership price
    $9.99/month
    Minimum deposit
    $50
    Maximum deposit
    Not stated
    Credit bureau reporting
    Equifax and TransUnion
    • Secured card fee: Neo’s fee schedule says “Secured Card Fee: $5 monthly fee (excluding customers on Build and Grow memberships)”. Annual fee, purchase rate and foreign transaction fee are from Neo’s Mastercard Disclosure Statement and Fee Schedule (last updated September 1, 2026), outside Quebec: legal.neo.cc/neo-credit-disclosures-rates-fees.
    • Neo’s page says you can apply with any credit history or income.
    • Verified October 19, 2026: “Build membership ($9.99/month, with ways to get it for free)” and “Apply with any credit history or income.” Secured page: “as little as $50 for most cards”; no maximum deposit stated. Bureau quote: “Every payment you make is reported to both TransUnion and Equifax.” Other figures carried over.
    Checked on issuer’s site: October 5, 2026Issuer page

    Home Trust

    Home Trust Secured Visa

    Annual fee / rate
    $0 at 19.99%, or $59 at 14.90%
    Deposit
    $500 to $10,000 (your limit equals your deposit)
    Credit bureau reporting
    Monthly, to Equifax and TransUnion
    Availability
    Not available in Quebec
    • Home Trust says you need a source of income and can’t currently be in bankruptcy.
    • Bureau reporting is from Home Trust’s article “Rebuilding credit history” (hometrust.ca/blog/rebuilding-credit-history), checked October 5, 2026.
    • Bureau reporting verified October 19, 2026 on Home Trust's own blog: “reports the monthly status of your account to both Equifax and TransUnion”. Other figures carried over.
    Checked on issuer’s site: October 5, 2026Issuer page

    Section 2 · Not a credit card

    Credit-building tool

    This is a different kind of product. It is not a credit card and can’t be used for purchases. You make small monthly payments that are meant to build a payment history.

    KOHO

    KOHO Credit Building

    Monthly cost
    $10/month (some plans pay less)
    Deposit
    None
    Hard credit check
    None
    Credit bureau reporting
    Equifax only (not TransUnion), monthly
    • KOHO says there are no deposits, hard credit checks or applications, and approval is guaranteed.
    • Monthly cost and bureau reporting are from KOHO’s own articles (koho.ca/learn/top-loans-for-credit-building and koho.ca/learn/is-koho-good-for-credit-building), checked October 5, 2026. KOHO says: “KOHO advertises Credit Building for $10 per month, although discounts may be available with certain KOHO plans.”
    • KOHO’s own pages say product details may have changed since posting: “KOHO product information and/or features may have been updated since this blog post was published.”
    • Bureau reporting verified October 19, 2026. Learning page: “KOHO currently reports Credit Building activity to Equifax but not TransUnion.” Help page: “Reports your payment activity to Equifax every month.” Price and other figures carried over.
    Checked on issuer’s site: October 5, 2026Issuer page

    Section 3

    Once you have some history

    This card is a next step, not a starting point after a denial. It needs income qualification and a clean recent record. It’s worth considering after you’ve used a secured card responsibly for a while.

    Tangerine

    Tangerine Money-Back Credit Card

    Annual fee
    $0
    Purchase rate
    20.95%
    Minimum income
    $12,000 gross per year
    Bankruptcy
    Must be clear for at least 7 years
    • Tangerine also checks other criteria after you apply.
    Checked on issuer’s site: October 5, 2026Issuer page

    How to choose

    Start with your needs, then compare the total cost

    1. Check eligibility

    Review income, residency, age, and credit requirements before applying.

    2. Count every fee

    Compare the annual fee and any charges that match how you expect to use the card.

    3. Weigh the trade-offs

    Choose features you will use, and make sure the limitations fit your habits.

    Frequently asked questions

    Compare the annual fee, interest rate, eligibility rules, rewards or benefits, and charges that apply to how you plan to use the card. Read the issuer's current terms before applying.

    Some cards require money to be held as security. The issuer's terms explain how the deposit is handled, whether it is refundable, and how it relates to the credit limit.

    Consider the value you are likely to receive from your normal spending, then subtract the annual fee and other relevant costs. Redemption rules and expiry conditions can affect the practical value.

    No. A featured label highlights a placement, and a sponsored label identifies compensation. Neither label means a product is suitable for everyone. Compare the full terms and your own needs.